Quick Course Search

Senior Management Team

Vice-Chancellor and Principal

Professor Ahmed Bawa is a theoretical physicist. Until August 2010 he was a faculty member of the Department of Physics and Astronomy at Hunter College and a member of the doctoral faculty at the Graduate Center, City University of New York.

Deputy Vice Chancellor: Academic

Prof Gwele obtained her professional education and training as a nurse. She graduated from the Frere College of nursing with a diploma in nursing, followed by a B.Cur. in Nursing from UNISA, M.Ed and MS: University of Missouri-Columbia and a PhD from the University of Natal.

Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Institutional Support

Professor Gawe has served on secondment as Programme Manager for Curriculum Development and Quality Assurance, for UNCFSP (United Negro College Fund), a project that was established to develop capacity in historically-disadvantaged institutions in South Africa.

Deputy Vice Chancellor: Technology, Innovation & Partnerships

Prof FAO (Fred) Otieno, BSc (Eng) Hons, University of Nairobi; MSc (Civil Eng) and PhD (Civil Eng), University of Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK; MBA UDW, South Africa; PrEng, FSAICE and SFWISA.

Executive Dean: Faculty of Accounting and Informatics

Prof Nepal was appointed as the Executive Dean of the Faculty of Accounting and Informatics from 1 December 2007.

He has a Doctoral Degree in Information Technology from the M L Sultan Technikon, 2 Masters of Science degrees, one in Computer Science from the University of Natal, and the other in Information Systems from University of South Africa. He also holds an Honours in Commerce and an Accounting Science degree from the University of Natal.

Executive Dean: Faculty of Applied Sciences

Professor Suren Singh assumed the position of lecturer in September 1997 at the former M.L. Sultan Technikon (now DUT) when research was still at its infancy. His arrival brought a much-awaited impetus to research at the then Technikon. Within five years, he was able to establish a core research group in Industrial Biotechnology and achieved a Y2 - NRF rating in 2002 and a C1 - NRF rating in 2007 and 2013.

Executive Dean: Faculty of Arts and Design (Acting)

Dr Rene Smith is a media and development researcher, scholar and speaker. She has a PhD in Media and Cultural Studies from the University of KwaZulu-Natal. She has served on a range of governing boards and committees including the Review Board of the Film and Publications Board. She has also served in Icasa’s Broadcasting Monitoring and Complaints Committee (precursor to the CCC). She has worked in and consulted for civil society, public and private sectors and has lectured in media and communications at various institutions across South Africa.

Executive Dean: Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment

Professor Theo Andrew qualified and worked, lectured, and consulted in the field of Electrical Engineering for over 25 years. He is a Fellow of the South African Institute of Electrical Engineers (SAIEE), and served as its KZN Branch Chair and Honorary Vice-President, and as one of its Vice-Presidents. He is also a member of the International Society for the Systems Sciences (ISSS) and a founding member of the Board of the South African Society for Engineering Educators (SASEE). Professor Andrew is a member of the Higher Education Quality Council of South Africa.

Executive Dean: Faculty of Health Sciences

Professor Lina Puckree aims to create and encourage a culture of research and to put the Faculty of Health Sciences at DUT on the map during her term of office. The Faculty of Health Sciences has significant potential that will be showcased under her directorship.

Executive Dean: Faculty of Management Sciences

Dr Balkaran has been a member of staff at the institution for 14 years. He served in the capacity of Lecturer and Senior Lecturer within the department of Hospitality and Tourism. In 2004 he was appointed Head of Department. Dr Balkaran has represented the Tourism and Hospitality sectors at national and global levels and has been instrumental in the development of the Institutions Conference Centre and Guest House as means to experiential learning.

Dean: Student Services

Amar Singh is a registered Psychologist and has worked within the Student Services ambit for most of his career.

Director: Midlands Campus

Dr Mandew assumed his duties in July 2013. He has extensive experience in the field of higher education. He worked as an Academic Development Tutor at the then University of Natal from 1991 until 1993 and lectured in the School of Theology in the same university till 1997.He then worked as an Assistant Vice-Chancellor of Student Services at ML Sultan Technikon until 2002 when he assumed duties as Executive Director: Academic Development, Training and Skills Provision at the then Durban Institute of Technology.

Special Assistant to the Vice Chancellor
Senior Director: Division of Corporate Affairs

Alan Khan is the Senior Director of Corporate Affairs at the Durban University of Technology. Khan, an alumnus of the University, has also served on the DUT’s Convocation Executive and Council.

Chief Financial Officer

Mr Dheo Aswanth Kumar is the Chief Financial Officer at the Durban University of Technology (DUT) and has served the institution for twenty years. He is currently a member of the Senior Executive Team (SET) of DUT. Mr Kumar has a plethora of financial skills which is critical to the management and operation of the financial ambit of the DUT.

Senior Director: Human Resources

Dr Matata Mokoele is a human resource professional with extensive management experience. Dr Mokoele is acknowledged for his understanding of the key role of education in enacting cultural and organisational change.

Director: International Education and Partnerships

Dr Samuels is a registered Dental Surgeon having qualified at the University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg. He has held professional registrations in both South Africa and the United Kingdom. During his studies he was awarded an International Exchange Scholarship that allowed him to attend a period at Melbourne University and undertake Clinical Work at the Old Royal Dental Hospital of Melbourne.

Director: Research and Postgraduate Support

Associate Director & Associate Professor in the Department of Mathematics, Statistics & Physics

Director: Technology Transfer & Innovation

Prof Gerhard Prinsloo graduated with a PhD in Electronic Engineering from the University of Stellenbosch in 1993 and enrolled for a BCompt degree in Management Accounting through UNISA.