Quick Course Search


Contact Information
All departmental queries to: 033 845 8844
All Faculty queries to:
031 373 5410

Head of Department: Mr D Mdlazi
Secretary: Mrs Goodness Khumalo
Tel No: 033 845 8844
Fax No: 033 845 8857
Location of Department: B 301 Riverside Campus, Pietermaritzburg

Faculty officer: Mrs Rowena Pankhurst
Tel No: 031 373 5410
Fax No: 031 373 5518
Location of Faculty office: ML Sultan Campus, Durban

Executive Dean (Acting): Dr Balkaran
Tel No: 031 373 5130
Fax No: 031 373 5518
Location of Executive Dean's office: ML Sultan, Durban


To produce independent creative and responsible thinkers through the creation of a space for experiential, practical, real world learning with programs that are versatile, useful and relevant.

To teach knowledge, skills and technology that anticipates the requirements of industry and community, identified through partnerships and applied research in real world environments by constantly keeping abreast of developments.

Ensure good moral conduct, integrity, transparency, accountability and professional excellence around which the department is built and operated on.


Head of Department
Ms DC Hlengwa, B. Paed; B(Hons); MRT (UZ); PDTE (UNISA)

Mr S Jugmohan, N Dip Tourism Management; B Tech Tourism Management (DUT); M Tech Tourism Management (DUT)
Mrs P. Mchunu, N.Dip: Tourism Management (TN); B Tech: Tourism Management (TN); MenvDev (UKZN)
Ms J Dhunraj, B.Soc.Sci (Hons) (UDW)

Mrs G Khumalo, N Dip: Office Admin (ManTech)

Programmes offered by the department

Programmes are offered in this Department which, upon successful completion, lead to the award of the following qualifications:

ND: Tourism Management (phasing out)
ND: Eco-Tourism Management
BTECH: Tourism Management
MTECH: Tourism Management


These courses cover the core syllabus common to all Tourism and Ecotourism Management offered at other Universities of Technology in South Africa, but with specific emphasis on entrepreneurship, development and management of tourism. Students may specialize in various fields of tourism and subsectors listed in the syllabus.

National Diploma Tourism Management
National Diploma Ecotourism Management
Bachelor of Technology Tourism Management
Master of Technology Tourism Management