Quick Course Search

Professor Theo Andrew

Executive Dean: Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment
031 373 2762
031 373 2668

Professor Theo Andrew qualified and worked, lectured, and consulted in the field of Electrical Engineering for over 25 years. He is a Fellow of the South African Institute of Electrical Engineers (SAIEE), and served as its KZN Branch Chair and Honorary Vice-President, and as one of its Vice-Presidents. He is also a member of the International Society for the Systems Sciences (ISSS) and a founding member of the Board of the South African Society for Engineering Educators (SASEE). Professor Andrew is a member of the Higher Education Quality Council of South Africa.

Prof Mark Walker

Deputy Dean
Tel: 031 373 2762
Fax: 031 373 2668

Secretary Ms P Nadar
Tel: 031 373 2762
Fax:  031 373 2668


Contact Information

The Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment (FEBE) has more than 6 000 students enrolled across the departments of Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering and Survey, Construction Management and Quantity Surveying, Electrical Power Engineering, Electronic Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Town and Regional Planning, Architectural Technology and Mechanical Engineering.

FEBE offers National Diploma, BTech, MTech and DTech courses with focused research in areas including Membrane Technologies for Water Purification, Chemical Thermodynamics, Applied Computational Intelligence, Bio-composites/Nano-materials, Technology Station in Reinforced and Moulded Plastics, the Inlebe Radio Telescope, Real Time Power System Simulation, Renewable Energy, Transportation, Engineering Education, Sustainable Development and Human Settlement.

Our illustrious alumni include Silver Tusk Award recipients, Chemical Engineering graduate Vanitha Engelbrecht, Mechanical Engineering graduate Gordon Murray and Electronic Engineering graduate, Sharoda Rapeti.

Engelbrecht is the first South African Breweries (SAB) employee to receive the prestigious international award for excellence in the Master Brewer examination. She is also the recipient of the Master Brewer-JS Hough Award from the Institute for Brewing and Distilling in the United Kingdom. Engelbrecht completed her BTech in Chemical Engineering Cum Laude from the former Technikon Natal.

Gordon Murray received his honorary doctorate from the Durban University of Technology in April 2011. He is a Mechanical Engineering graduate from the former Natal Technical College. In 1969 Murray left the shores of Durban for Britain, to follow his passion for motor racing and automotive design. What began as a hobby developed into a four decade career in the automotive industry. Murray began working for Formula One racing and car design as a Technical Director of the Brabham Grand Prix Team. As Chief Designer of the Formula One Brabham Team, Murray’s cars totalled 22 Grand Prix wins. After leaving McLaren he embarked on his own business venture and established the Gordon Murray Design Consultancy and unveiled the T25 Low-Carbon City Car in June 2010.

Rapeti graduated with a Higher National Diploma in Electronic Engineering from ML Sultan Technikon. She has 21 years experience in the Technology, Media and Telecommunications industry in South Africa and has earned a multitude of awards. She also holds an MBA and is currently a partner and the director of Technology, Media and Telecommunications at Delloite Consulting.

Another notable alumni is Dr Vince Mdinisa who began his undergraduate studies at ML Sultan Technikon. He spent 14 years service as an academic and left DUT to join Tongaat Hulett’s Technology and Engineering Group.

Faculty Contact Information

Location Steve Biko Campus, S4 L3

Faculty Officer: Mrs N Singh
Tel: 031 373 2718

Faculty Assistants:
Ms B Jili
- Architectural Technology
- Quantity Surveying & Building
Tel: 031 373 2716

Mr V Mazibuko
- Civil Eng & Surveying
- Industrial Engineering
Tel: 031 373 2548

Ms N Juggernath
- Electronic Engineering
- Chemical Engineering
- Pulp & Paper
Tel: 031 373 3040

Ms T Zindela
- Mechanical Engineering
- Electrical Power Engineering
Tel: 031 373 3041

Mr L Dlamini
Computer Laboratory
Tel: 031 373 2129
Fax: 086 674 0704